Autumn Tacos

Last night I made something that I like to call Autumn Tacos, though my husband much prefers the name Fallacos. Either way, they were delicious.

I don’t know a lot about cooking, but I seem to have really good intuition for combining odd ingredients to create positively scrumptious dishes.

I don’t have a specific recipe for these, but below is a basic description of how I made my Autumn Tacos. They are really easy to make and I highly recommend you give it a try one of these lovely fall evenings!

Autumn Tacos

You will need:

  • Butternut Squash (if you don’t like butternut squash, you could probably substitute sweet potatoes and get a similar result. I thought about doing that but had some squash that I needed to use)
  • Chickpeas (I used 2, 15 ounce cans and probably the equivalent of half a squash. This made for a pretty good ratio)
  • Red onion, chopped (my husband had this chopped by the time I got home from work, so I don’t know how much of the onion he used. It looked like somewhere between 1/2 cup-1 cup of chopped onion)
  • Fresh cranberries, finely chopped (I just pulled a small handful from the bag and chopped them)
  • A bit of ground ginger
  • A bit of dried thyme
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Tortillas
  • Crumbled feta cheese

 

I sauteed the squash and onions in a little bit of oil until the onions were soft and the squash was warm. Then I combined the squash and onions in a bowl with all of the other ingredients (minus the tortillas and feta cheese) and mixed it together with the seasonings. I dumped the mixture into a glass pan, covered it with some aluminum foil and put in the oven, set at 350. I honestly cannot say how long I kept it in the oven. Timing things is pretty much where I always fail as a cook. When I checked on the mixture after let’s say…10-15 minutes, and found that the squash was soft and the chickpeas were hot, I took off the  aluminum foil and put the tortillas in the oven to warm. Once the tortillas were warm, I removed everything from the oven and served the squash and chick pea mixture on the tortillas, topped with crumbled feta cheese. Do not forget this last step! The feta cheese is what elevated this meal from good to fantastic.

I will definitely be making these again in the near future.

 

Leave a Reply

