Well that takes me back

I am researching an article I’m planning to write about the best of Netflix Instant’s television offerings, and decided to check out their kid shows section. Holy god, this category is a gold mine!

Fraggle Rock, Rocky & Bullwinkle & Friends, Inspector Gadget, Rugrats. Freaking, Rocko’s Modern Life!

The only thing missing is Doug. And Salute Your Shorts, Hey Dude, Clarissa Explains It All, Pete & Pete. All that good stuff. But all the same, it’s veritable treasure trove of childhood favorites. They even have the show about Arthur, which was never as good as the books, but still worth a watch from time-to-time.

I’ve been watching Rocky & Bullwinkle at work today, and this show is just as good as I remember it, maybe even better. I think it was sort of made to speak to more adult sensibilities. But given that the show is way older than I am, I’m impressed that it doesn’t feel completely dated and ridiculous. Or maybe it does, and it’s just old enough to read as classic. Either way, if you have Netflix Instant, I highly recommend spending an afternoon watching some of these old kids shows and reminiscing.

One thought on “Well that takes me back

  1. Boris and Natasha. The classic Russian couple from the cold war days. This is from my childhood. It’s funny that you would have been interested in this at all.

Leave a Reply

