A Good Start

Today was my first work day after leaving my office job. I feel at ease, and completely rejuvenated and excited about my day-to-day life. There was a part of me that wanted to celebrate my first office-free day by sleeping in and enjoying a leisurely morning. But I instead chose to really embrace this opportunity for change and dedicate myself to making the most of my time.

I started the day by meeting my friend Naomi at 6 in the morning for a 3.5 mile run. The night before an early morning run, I always dread it and worry about how terrible I’ll feel when the alarm goes off before 6, but then when I’m out there in the cool morning air, with the sun coming up, I feel completely invigorated and excited about the day. Feeling refreshed and energized, I made breakfast for myself and Dan. On most mornings, Dan is up before I am, so we rarely get to eat breakfast together during the week. It was so nice to spend an extra hour together in the morning, talking about my plans for the day, and our ongoing garden project. By 9 am, I had already done some reading for my pregnancy massage certification, started cleaning up the house so that it would be ready for clients later in the day, and booked a new client for a 60 minute lunch session! By the time 1:30 rolled around, I had accomplished in a morning what I had previously been lucky to accomplish in a day. I spent the afternoon running some errands and planting flowers in the garden.

But the best part of my whole day was the wonderful email I received from dad this morning. My dad is always ready with the perfect quote or words of wisdom for every situation. He is incredibly eloquent and caring, and I feel as though he’s constantly opening my mind to new and interesting ideas. Emails like this are one of the many reasons why I love him so darn much. I am not going to post the whole thing here, but I do want to share this one part:

Emerson cited the Caliph Ali (respected by Muslims for “courage, knowledge, belief, honesty, unbending devotion to Islam, deep loyalty to Muhammad, equal treatment of all Muslims and generosity in forgiving his defeated enemies, and therefore central to mystical traditions in Islam such as Sufism,”) for the wisdom he had to say, “Thy lot or portion of life is seeking after thee; therefore be at rest from seeking after it.” Your lot and portion have a better chance of finding you now that you are in a more open and hospitable place to be spotted each work day. Slowly and surely, the time and place will continue getting better for you.

It was a perfect complement to a very positive start to this new stage of my life.  I am really looking forward to what I have planned for the rest of the week: complete my pregnancy massage certification, catch up on some overdue blogging, begin working on updating my massage therapy website, and get started on some writing projects I’ve been thinking about lately.

One thought on “A Good Start

  1. I, on the other hand, simply missed our office chat time. I was kind of lonely! Congratulations on a great start to your new, less oppressed, reinvigorated life!

Leave a Reply

