What a difference good weather makes!

It is absolutely beautiful out today and I couldn’t be happier about it. Dan and I woke up early to go for a 4.5 mile run, and the cool temperature and soft breeze were such a relief after so many days of excruciating heat and humidity.

Now Ty and I are spending what is left of our morning sitting out on the back deck under the shade of the umbrella while I do a bit of writing.

Which brings me to some big news: for the past couple of months, and picking up steam in the last few weeks, only to be blocked suddenly by a bout of emptyheadedness, which I am happy to say seems to have subsided, I have been slowly and quietly sketching out an idea for a story. Oftentimes, ideas will come to me and I’ll write a story, nice and short, from beginning to end. I’ll go back to it later and touch up a few things, add some stuff, cut parts out, but for the most part, it’s a sudden inspiration leads to immediate completion kind of thing. Either that or I’ll get an idea, begin to write, get stuck, and realize that the idea was stupid, or at least not the kind of story I’m interested in writing, and I’ll abandon it all together. But for quite a while now, I keep coming back to this same idea and building it piece by piece in my head and a bit on paper. It occurred to me the other day that what I have here is more than a nice short story. I have the beginnings of what could realistically be a book. I’m not marrying myself to that idea because doing so seems like the easiest way to kill these feelings of motivation and delight, but I have decided to pursue this story in a serious and dedicated way to see where it takes me. My dad is always emphasizing the importance of developing a project, something, whatever it may be, that you actively think about and work to refine and build upon and dedicate yourself to intellectually and creatively. I am making this my new project, with the intention of staying determined to stick with it, return to it, to make of it whatever it is destined to be. 

So there you have it…I may have just started my first attempt at a novel.

Leave a Reply

