Squared Away

If you spend time with me on a daily basis (so basically, if you’re Dan), you know that my new iPad has quickly become my most trusted inanimate companion. I freaking love this thing. You may be wondering, can it replace a computer? No, at least not for me. Just the thought of writing stories on the touch screen computer makes my fingers hurt, but at the same time, I use it in ways that I never used my computer and derive greater everyday value from the use of my iPad than I do from my computer. I love it for Netflix Instant and Hulu. I love how easy it is to carry around the house with me as I move from room to room, sweeping and cleaning each morning to get the house ready for any potential clients. Everything loads so quickly and works so flawlessly and it’s not constantly on the verge of running out of batteries like my laptop or my phone (I think my phone is broken 😦 ). But most of all, I love how useful it has already been for my business, which was my whole reason for getting it. Not only do I have an awesome app that tracks my scheduled appointments and lets me keep all of my client info and session notes in one, easy place, but I also have an app that lets me accept credit card payments! This is huge! Just this past week I got a new client who would not have scheduled with me if didn’t take credit cards. I really think it’s going to make a big difference and I’m very excited about that.

The app is called Square. It’s a free app, which rocks, and it comes with a free card reader that plugs into the iPad’s headphone jack.

I have all of my different massage options set up in the app as “Items” and when it comes time for my clients to pay, I just select their item and then swipe the card through the card reader. They sign with their finger directly on the iPad screen and I can instantly text or email a receipt to them. It is awesome.

2 thoughts on “Squared Away

  1. Three cheers for the iPad!! 🙂 I’m so jealous! I downloaded Square for my iPhone too actually and am so glad you told me about it – i need to get the card reader thingie!

    • Definitely get the card reader; it’s free and it decreases your per charge fees! You can order it on squareup.com and they’ll ship it to you, all free!

Leave a Reply

