Bye Bye Beige

I really like my house. It’s small, and in traditional Baltimore style, far longer than it is wide, but it’s cute and comfy and there exposed brick walls. Over the past two years, we’ve slowly created a home that we both like living in. We turned the basement into a massage therapy space so that I can work from home. We fixed up the backyard and made it a really lovely little space to sit outside and eat dinner or have an after-work drink. We’ve moved around furniture, switched up rooms, done whatever we can to make the best use of the limited but, for now, perfectly adequate space. It’s not a house that would pierce the heart with an intense and unabating jealousy, but it’s a nice house, and I like it.

Except for the beige walls. I call it Renovation Beige. Our house had been newly renovated when we bought it, and every wall, every single wall, was painted beige. For two years now, we have lived in a beige prison. Beige walls, beige carpeting upstairs, beige-ish couches. The tranquility of beige is driving me insane. In the last six months or so, I have grown desperate to put an end to the tyranny of beige. Last night, Dan and I finally united forces against our beige oppressors and started painting!

We spent the evening painting the dining room. I could not be happier with the result.

Yellow! Look at that glorious yellow!

Tonight we are doing the living room and tomorrow we’ll paint the bedroom. I’ll be sure to post some photos of those rooms once they’re done.

One thought on “Bye Bye Beige

Leave a Reply

