Rainy Day

{Cayenne Strawberry Rain Galoshes by ModCloth}

It has been raining off and on all day. I love it. I’ve spent most of the afternoon at my desk, finishing up a few stories and listening to thunder rolling in from the distance. There’s something very soothing about the occasional gray, rainy day. I like writing while the rain patters against the window. The dog sits at my feet because he’s afraid of the thunder, but I like the ripple as a storm moves in. I smile when it cracks overhead and rattles the house. It rained all weekend and that was fine with me too. I think it’s because I’m so ready to be done with summer, and cool rain feels like the beginning of a slow goodbye.

I made a cup of chai tea and drank it while writing an essay. It isn’t chai weather yet, but it will be eventually, perhaps in not too long, and I wanted to celebrate the hopefulness of that idea.

I sat with the window open, one foot up on the sill, and enjoyed the cool, rainy day breeze. I wrote well today. Easily, hungrily. It was a little alarming. I was like a plant, dried out from the scorching summer, suddenly overwhelmingly nourished by the rush of rain.

Later, the sun came out and Dan and I ran the dog through the park. It was humid, but still breezy, and so much cooler than it has been all summer. The nice weather has put me in the mood for hiking. I think that is going to be our new activity for the fall.

One thought on “Rainy Day

  1. I love that umbrella and those boots, btw! 🙂 And, I completely agree with you about getting excited and loving a good stormy day every once in a while. It makes me feel like getting comfy in the house and being productive…oh and of course, drinking a warm beverage. I literally think I’m so excited for fall that I think I’m going to drink chai, go apple/pumpkin picking, wear a cute sweater with boots and bake a casserole or crockpot recipe all on the first day it drops to 50-60 degrees!

Leave a Reply

