My Soundtrack

Whenever I sit down with the intention of doing several hours worth of writing, the first thing I do is put together a playlist of music that will provide a bit of background noise. There’s a certain art to finding the right music for this task. It needs to have a strong enough presence that it gets me out of my own head a bit so that I’m not second-guessing every idea or word that comes to mind, but writing freely and easily without too much thought. But it can’t be so overbearing that it completely drowns out my own thoughts or pulls my attention away from what I’m writing. The idea is to write, not to sit at my computer and listen to music.

Recently, my playlists have featured a lot of Basia Bulat music. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this singer before, and if I haven’t then shame on me, because I absolutely love her. If you’ve never heard her music before, you absolutely must look her up and listen to everything she sings. She’s fabulous. Anything off of Heart of My Own is great writing music, but I am especially loving “The Shore” this week.

 

Bon Iver is another oft played artists during my writing sessions.

 

When I’m looking for something a little more upbeat, I include Adele’s 21. “Rumor Has It” and “Rolling In the Deep” are both good for a little energy burst, but I think “Someone Like You” is my favorite song on the album.

 

If you have suggestions other music that I should add to my regular rotation, let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

