Feel A Whole Lot Better

I told my mother that this would be the week when I start feeling better, get off my butt, and get things done. I guess sometimes the power of positive thinking really can lead to positive results. I feel pretty good today. I spent the morning catching up on a little housework (namely four loads of laundry that have been sitting for days waiting to be folded. Folding laundry is the worst.) while watching last night’s premiere of Pan Am (not bad, not great. I’ll probably watch another few episodes to see where it goes. The whole excitement and joy of flying stuff feels a little silly when you’ve grown up during a time where the thought of simply being able to meet a traveler at the gate makes you feel nostalgic, but apparently flying really was such a big, special ordeal and not an experience that makes you want to beat yourself over the head with a blunt object just so you can get through the day.)

After that, Ty and I went for a nice long walk in the park. It’s gray and cloudy today, but the air temperature is kind of nice and there’s a good breeze. I’m hoping the sun doesn’t come out, because I don’t want it to get any warmer than it is now. For a while there, it looked like we were headed into fall, but it has really warmed up again and I am not happy about it. Go away summer, you’re not welcome here anymore.

Later this afternoon, I’m planning to walk down to the library. Then I really need to give the dog a bath, and start studying for the GREs. Somewhere in there, I’m going to do some exercise. I think my relationship to exercise is a big part of what has been bringing me down lately. Through a combination of working too much and a few days where I was sitting for long hours in very uncomfortable seats, I managed to hurt my back pretty badly and the pain has been nagging for weeks now. It has made it hard to run and difficult to do any kind of exercise at all, which leaves me feeling lazy and down on myself. My back pain isn’t gone yet (though I’m finally getting a massage on Wednesday that will hopefully take care of the problem), but I made a decision to not beat myself up about it and not get too down and out about my lack of activity. These things happen in life and you just have to roll with it. I’m going to try to do a little something today and if it hurts too much, I’ll just keep waiting until my back is healed.

As for the rest of the week, I’m pretty excited about what’s to come. Dan and I ordered new running shoes and hiking shoes, and I can’t wait to put them to good use. We are planning to go for a small hike somewhere on Thursday morning in lieu of attending Rosh Hashanah services (this is apparently a bit of a tradition in Dan’s family. I guess they did it more often on Yom Kippur, but some years they would just skip services and instead take the opportunity to spend the day together outside, connecting with the world. I think it is a lovely idea and I’m excited that instead of sitting in uncomfortable chairs, Dan and I will be out doing something active and getting to spend time together talking about our lives and the world. It’s pretty unorthodox, I suppose, but given that I’m not Jewish, I certainly don’t care!). Then later that evening, we’re having friend’s over to cook dinner and celebrate the New Year. And on Friday, the Tigers kick off their playoff run! There’s certainly lots of stuff to look forward to, and I’m happy to be approaching it with a renewed sense of wellbeing.

Leave a Reply

