New Year, New Configuration

One of the things I’ve discovered about living in a small house is that it can take a while to figure out what kind of setup offers the greatest amount of space. Dan and I (well mostly just me) have changed around our house so many times in the past 2.5 years that it’s almost impossible to remember what it looked like when we first moved in. Since I work from home part-time, I spend a lot of hours in our house and changing it up helps keep it feeling fresh and like a worthwhile place to spend my work day. Our latest iteration was completed this past week when we finally painted the kitchen (something we’ve been planning to do for the better part of a year) and changed up the configuration of the dining room to create an additional sitting area and improve the sight lines when you first enter the house and look through the living room to the dining room and back into the kitchen. Not only did the change open up the dining room and make the back half of the house feel much larger, it also allowed us to remove one of the chairs from the living room, which made a huge difference to the relative size of that room and makes it feasible for us to finally get a full-sized couch instead of squeezing onto the little love seat we currently have every time we want to sit together and watch a movie. If you’ve never been in my house and thus cannot make a comparison, this post will be little more than a space filler with pictures that seem too warm and bright because my camera does not like capturing my house in the evening (I have a lot of bright colors in my house). But for those of you who actually know what my house looked like before, let me know what you think of the new setup.

Looking from the living room into the dining room and kitchen. We used to have the table on the opposite wall and two large shelving units against the brick. I think the best change we made was taking the black bookcase that used to create a visual barrier and placing it facing the front of the house against the side of our refrigerator. Not only did that move make it so the brick wall can serve as a nice, continuous visual line, but it also keeps the bookshelf from taking up extra space. The side of the fridge was just dead space before, but now there is some nice shelving there and all of the unsightly dog and cat food bins stored on the bottom shelves are blocked from view by the table!

This is the wall where the table used to be. Now the cabinet where we store our glassware is paired up with a lounge chair where we’ll sit and read or listen to music. The stereo, which looks crappy and was kind of an eyesore on the bookshelf before, is now stored inside the cabinet with the speakers positioned to point out the open side. It is much more out of sight, but we’ve already used it more in the past week than we did when it was really visible, but sort of in the way.

Looking from the kitchen into the dining room and living room beyond. You can see what I was talking about with the speakers. I know I don’t have a before picture here, but it is kind of amazing that we added a whole extra piece of furniture to this room (the chair) and still managed to create more space in here than we had before.

It’s a little hard to tell the color in this photo, but the kitchen is blue. It’s the same blue we have in our bathroom and probably my favorite color in the house. It looks really good in the kitchen which was a huge relief because I was kind of worried about finding a paint that would go well with the counter tops.

New salt and pepper shakers from our friends Cara and Mike. I love these!

Preparing for winter, we cut whatever herbs remained in our Topsy Turvy. I took the rosemary and placed it in this old Prego pasta sauce jar and was excited by how nice it looked.

In my house, you’ll always be able to make a quick cup of tea.

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Configuration

  1. I agree, it’s amazing how much space you’ve gained back with this simple swap of some pieces! Looks awesome. You and your furniture rearranging totally inspire me! Love the rosemary on the window sill, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

